Yarn

I love yarn.  I’ve loved yarn for as long as I can remember. (There was going to be a cute little picture of yarn and stuff here, but for some reason WP doesn’t love this picture and refuses to let me post it right now. Maybe later.)

It’s just so versatile.  You can make so many varied and snazzy dohickies with it.

When I was younger, I learned how to knit and crochet.  I promptly forgot how, since the next time I picked up a set of knitting needles or a crochet hook with any serious intent wasn’t until my early 30’s.

As such, there’s been a lot of trial and error in my crafting endeavours.  (On a side note, having read a metric butt-ton of British literature in my formative years, I have a habit of spelling things in the prettier British format.  I try to remember not to do this, as I’ve been told it’s a tad pretentious as I am not British myself.  Bear with me, since I will inevitably slip.)

picture from hither and yarn

The advent of the internet and YouTube has made relearning these skills far easier and it’s been less of an exercise in frustration and more of an oh-I-just-learned-the-coolest-thing-ever journey for me.

I can successfully knit a rather nifty scarf.  Sure, it’s pretty basic, but it’s a start!  I can crochet the same.

After I finish the two scarves I’m currently needling, I want to start putting a little extra pizzaz into my crafting.  I’m going to make zigzags! Yes, I’m pretty easily pleased.

After the zigzags… Bags! I found the cutest pattern (eep! Pattern reading is not yet a skill I have.) for crocheted tote bags. How hard can it be?

The next big crafty project on my list?  Sewing.  Not like hemming the pants that keep coming loose, but actual honest-to-goodness sewing.  Clothes are expensive darnit!  If I can make my own, not only do I feel accomplished, I can also dress pretty.  What’s not to love?

Leave a Reply

