21 More Days Til NaNoWriMo

It’s coming, folks. Like a freight train. It’s unavoidable!

Well, okay, it really is avoidable. You don’t have to participate. But darn it, it’s just FUN.

Naturally, I’m talking about that November insanity inducing awesomeness, NaNoWriMo.

I’m busily working on my WIP, hoping to slay a huge chunk of it next month. I may not hit the 50k goal, but whatever number I reach, I’ll be  that much closer to the end of my novel. Thus it = win.

We were chatting on the Writer’s Huddle (membership is open for like two more days if you’re interested) about the rules. Many of us view them more as guidelines, than rules. *slaps on an eyepatch* Arrrrr!

I say, don’t get stressed about it. While it’s a GREAT exercise for helping to build writing stamina and discipline (remember, 21 days is all it takes to make a habit), it shouldn’t make you dread writing. That totally defeats the purpose.

With that in mind, I’m sure that any of you out there who are planning to participate are just as intent on preparing yourselves as I am.

So here are some of the resources that I’m using.

How to Write Faster – This is designed for blogs, but it totally applies to anything else!

2,000 to 10,000 Words a Day – I am so not there yet, but I aim to be someday. Also, Rachel has expanded all of her techniques into a short book that is available on Amazon. It is on my list of MUST HAVES.

Holly Lisle – Pretty much anything this woman teaches about writing is pure gold for me. Your mileage may vary.

Daydreaming – Surprisingly effective!

Brandon Sanderson’s Lectures – I have much love for this site. It ranks with cupcakes.

Becca Weston – totally nails it in this post!

Scrivener – It is amazing. Quite possibly the best money I’ve spent on software (this includes games!).

Do you have favourite NaNo prep tools? Share them in the comments.

Also, check back. I’ll be posting my progress through the entire month of November. If you want me to cheer you on, just let me know!

Leave a Reply

