Too much to do…

And as always, not enough time!

All the work stuff that needs to be done (donation letters, admin work, etc) is just piling up like mad. To the point where I look at it and go: Ugh, can’t I just go home and write instead?

I know that isn’t a good attitude to have about it all, it just gets overwhelming sometimes.

Then there was this past weekend. Oh lordy. We took a road trip to Chico to visit A’s daughter. Nine hours to drive up and nine right back down. It’s a good thing that I like driving. Although it wasn’t helpful that I had itty bitty bladder syndrome for the last part of it.

Did you know that freaking NO ONE has available potties at 2am? Yeah. Well, they don’t. And I don’t do that roadside tinkle thing.

The trip was really nice overall. The northern bit of the state is quite pleasant and rainy and cool. Unlike the barren wasteland of hot, scorching, death causing sunshine where we live. We so need to move. I keep trying to get A to move to Washington, but like my Phoenix powers, he is resisting.

We rented a cute little Ford Focus for the trip. That sucker has great gas mileage. And it’s also really nice to fill up at the gas pump and see $40 instead of $70.

Oh, yeah. You’re wondering why we rented a car.

Mine broke. It got the flu or something. And by flu, I mean the alternator up and died on me. While on the freeway. Where there was no shoulder.

A cop had to come along and push me off the freeway to a part that had a shoulder so I would be safe and out of the way. It was awfully nice of him. He also called the free tow service to come take my broken little car off the freeway entirely so I’d be out of the way of rush hour traffic.

It gets better! It was a freaking farce from that point on. I called my insurance company to arrange a tow home. Except that they only cover 15 miles. And I didn’t have money in my account until 4 hours later. Oh and I live a good 25ish miles from where I broke down.

So someone drove down to where I was to let me use the AAA membership we had purchased for the work van (which is also sketchy and barely made it alive). Yeah. That membership only covered 7 miles. SEVEN FREAKING MILES. Seriously? Are you kidding me? What the hell is the point of paying for that nonsense if it only covers seven miles?

Fortunately, the tow truck driver was a nice guy and took me to a mechanic within that seven miles (who then took me home) so that I’d be able to use the $120+ dollars it would have cost for the tow, to fix the car.

Which is a good thing, cause DAYUM, it cost a lot to fix the car. Almost as much as getting new tires. My car’s shoes cost more than mine do…

I can laugh about it, cause otherwise it’s depressing. But I’m ready for a break now, please and thank you. I won’t have time for all this nonsense in November!

So, how was YOUR weekend?

Leave a Reply

