I’m a menace to myself – Redux

So remember when I said I was clumsy and I fell a lot?

And how I said that I’m a menace to myself?

Fortunately, I’m also able to recognize the humor in these situations I get myself into and laugh. Cause really, if I didn’t laugh at myself, I’d feel all sorry for myself and whinge and then everyone would be annoyed, including me.

Also, let’s face it. It’s funny as hell when people hurt themselves through ridiculous means. That’s why America’s Funniest Home Videos was (or is?) so popular. Watching the dad get nailed in the groin by the little kid with the bat/ball/helmet/whatever is freaking hysterical.

Some background!

I have to get up at an obscene hour. Anything before 9am is rude. I get up at 5:45. Even with daylight saving time, I get up before the sun does. Because of this, I have to get to bed at a stupidly early hour (I’m a night owl, so this is really rough on me).

I’m trying to catch up on the last season of Once Upon a Time so that I can watch the current season, which is filling up my DVR. Sadly, it was time to go to bed, but I really wanted to watch another episode before I went to sleep.

So there I am, zooming through my nightly routine. I’ve showered in almost record time, for me anyway, and I had just done the turban thingie with the towel that girls do, so that our hair doesn’t drip all over us. Cause really, if you don’t do that, it totally defeats the purpose of trying to dry off anyway, as you keep getting wet all over again.

I’d just tucked the ends of the towel under and then I slipped and fell, landing firmly on my knee and a soft squishy part of my anatomy that STILL FREAKING HURTS.

Hint: I can sit down just fine.

Also, I now know what it feels like to have a mammogram, and I’m really not looking forward to the real thing. Cause holy crap… OUCH.

I’m not sure what’s sadder. The fact that I managed to fall down in the shower (this is not the first time this has happened to me, btw), orΒ  the fact that my first thought was: If I had the little rubber safety ducks in my shower like Sheldon, this probably wouldn’t have happened.

Thankfully, I didn’t dislocate anything and didn’t need to be rushed to the hospital. Nor do I have the Chinese characters for Courage, Soup, or anything else tattooed to my bits.

See? There’s always a bright side.

I think I’ll stop at Target and pick up some duckies, though.

4 thoughts on “I’m a menace to myself – Redux

  1. BAHAHA!! I have totally bitten the linoleum coming out of the shower, lol. I fall down more than is socially acceptable I think.

    Very sorry for the jumblie injury! That shiz hurts!

  2. Totally fine πŸ™‚ thank you for asking! Just a little bruised. My girl is not pleased with me, I assure you!

    Glad it made you laugh! While not funny at the time, I think it’s pretty hysterical when I crash and burn πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

