Pitch Perfect

View the details here.

Singing. Acapella. Romance. Fitting in. Music nerds. Fat Amy. What’s NOT to love?

When I first saw the previews for this, I was excited. It had all sorts of things that I love with the whole of my nerdly little heart. But then I started second guessing myself. What if they do the old bait and switch on me like Glee did? Then I’ll be all broken-hearted again. So I tucked it away to think about later. pitchperfect

I love Anna Kendrick. She’s just adorable all over the place. She’s also five feet nothing and cute as a button. And omg, girlfriend can SING. I was stunned. I love it when actors can actually for reals sing in their movies. (I think that’s because I was in choir for most of high school, even though I can’t carry a tune in a bucket.) I loved her character and the way she got sucked into the whole acapella thing even though she didn’t want to.

I also love Brittany Snow. She’s another one who’s just too cute for words (and I think she looks better as a ginger than a blond). It took me a while to figure it out, but I knew her from Harry’s Law (which I loved) with her red Chevy Malibu with the iPod dock and her love of expensive shoes. She gives a brilliant performance in Pitch Perfect. Like seriously. Her whole shower thing slayed me. Also, nodes.

The other selling point, besides the whole acapella thing (have I mentioned that I’m a total nerd for stuff like that?) was Rebel Wilson. She has some of the most hysterical lines in the movie and I loved her in Bridesmaids (another movie I was meh about until I saw it and giggled like a moron over). Even if the rest of the movie sucked (which it doesn’t), it would be worth watching just for her performance.

So this weekend when A said “Let’s watch this,” I went “Okay,” cause really, how bad could it be?

It wasn’t.

I can’t even do my usual good, bad, and ugly thing here. There was nothing bad or ugly about this movie for me. Nothing but good. It tickled my funny bone and had characters I could relate to. It was also sweet, without hurting my teeth and being overly sappy. And the singing! Omg. Don’t even get me started. I seriously want to get this movie on my phone so I can watch it every day. That is how much I adore this. It’s right up there with the eyecandy buffet that is The Avengers.

I’ll just let that sink in for a second.

A totally unexpected awesome came in the form of Hana Mae Lee, who played Lilly. She had the rest of the most hysterical lines in the movie and they were all delivered in the tiniest, almost inaudible voice you can imagine. Which was what made it even more hilarious for me. My stomach hurt when I first figured out what she was saying.

This is one of those awesome, feel good, coming of age sort of movies that just leaves you happy when you’re done watching it. I understand that not everyone has my particular tastes, but if you do, this is such a must see.

I’m not joking about getting it on my phone so I can watch it daily.

seriousface

Leave a Reply

