My Super Sweet Sixteenth Century – Rachel Harris

View the details here.

I started following the very lovely and totally awesometastic Rachel Harris on twitter a few months ago when I decided to really do this whole thing. Go follow her now. I’ll wait.

This is definitely a case of tweet inspired buying. I’d seen her talk about it and thought it sounded fun and interesting.

Add to that, she’s a truly LOVELY person and I couldn’t NOT throw my money at her.

shut-up-and-take-my-money

So, on to the book!

Book:

15 and like 9/10’s year old Cat is off to Florence with her father and soon to be step-mom. Naturally she’s dealing with all the usual issues with having a new step-mother. Once she gets there, though, things take a turn for the Renaissance, where Cat learns a few life-lessons.

The good:

Oh so much good. I don’t even know where to start.

I love the premise. Time-travel is always fun. In this case, it’s a real eye-opener for the MC. Cat is cute as a button, and I can relate to a lot of her issues. STILL. After like 20 years.

Rachel nails her MC and makes her relatable, real, and capable of growth. That’s important. She isn’t stale at all.

Cat learns her lessons in several ways without being clubbed over the head. Some of them are funny, some sweet, some poignant, and some just flat out msssccreepy.

The ending was satisfying. BUT OH SO NOT! Meaning, Rachel was a meanie butt and set up the next novel perfectly and left me wondering when it was coming out so I could read it already. This is a good thing.

But other than the cliff hangeryness (yes, I made that up just now) the ending was exactly what I wanted it to be after reading the rest of the story.

Also, and this is nitpicky but important to me, I didn’t find typos or mixed up names or anything to jerk me out of the story. Thank you good editing! Don’t get me wrong. I know that mistakes happen, it’s inevitable and I don’t expect any novel to be perfect. But my threshold for mistakes is pretty low, simply because it distracts me. So MWAH for the fine toothed comb that kept me right there in Cat’s pocket the whole way through.

The bad:

There isn’t any. I seriously loved this read. It made me feel good at the end.

Niccolo was creepy as hell, so I guess he can be the bad.

Overall:

OMG read it if this genre is even remotely anything you’re into. It was well worth passing up on a chai latte for a day to read this!

Leave a Reply

