Tight Knit – Allie Brennan

View the details here.

Allie was one of my first friends on Twitter. And as always, I am eager to read anything the super awesome types that I stalk follow on Twitter have to offer. I may even read things the not so awesome folks have, but usually not likely. (Note to all: Being a real person and nice, gets you friends. Friends read all your books!)

I admit that I will love Allie forever, just because she likes my writing (Don’t judge me!), but I also read excerpts from Tight Knit on her blog and was totally tightknithooked.

While I am getting a paper copy of this as part of winning Allie’s contest, I had to buy it as soon as it was on Amazon. I loved it so much that it’s well worth having more than one copy!

The blurb:

Talia Gregory relies on her Nan for everything, especially helping her calm the anxiety that controls her life. But Nan gets sick, and it couldn’t be worse timing. Talia’s panic attacks are getting worse, her boyfriend is a jerk, her best friend is distant, her parents are more absent than usual and she’s stuck planning the Cozy Christmas Charity Drive for her knitting group in place of Nan. If that’s not panic inducing enough, enter Lachlan.

Lachlan McCreedy doesn’t rely on anyone. Not after what he’s been through. It’s him and Gram, nothing else matters but keeping his past buried, and his secrets hidden. So when Gram forces him to help with her Christmas sale, Talia is the last thing he expected, and trusting her with his secrets comes as a shock to both of them. But when he unexpectedly falls for her, the question becomes can he trust her with his heart?

The good:

I loved the character development. Talia wasn’t a perfect goody goody. She has issues. Rather serious ones. I’ve had one panic attack in my whole life and hope never to repeat the experience. Talia lives with them multiple times a day. She’s terrified of living and she has to slowly learn that she’s got strength for days.

I also appreciate that Talia doesn’t play the usual teenage girl games. Her experiences have given her a different outlook on life and that hidden strength shows when she speaks her mind. Even when she’s afraid to.

Likewise, Lachlan isn’t all bad boy with a past. Oh he’s got a past, all right. And wow, is it a doozy. He’s struggling with it and his desire to be better. Turns out, he’s got hidden strength too.

Also. I’m so learning to crochet Talia’s hats. Just saying. When I master them at last, I’ll send Allie one!

The bad:

It ended. *pout* That’s how I know I’ve read a good book. I’m always bummed at the end because I’m attached and want to keep watching the characters’ lives.

I lost a lot of sleep over this too. I got it on a Friday and stayed up til 3:45am reading, cause I didn’t want to put it down. I was a total zombie the next day and A got to complain about me having the light on for once. So you see, everyone was happy.

Seriously, buy and read this book. Allie is a great writer and it just makes you feel good when you’re finished reading it!

4 thoughts on “Tight Knit – Allie Brennan

Leave a Reply

